Notebook (lunch)

July 28, 2013 § Leave a comment

“‘Why don’t you get rid of that jacket?’, says W. ‘You’ve been wearing it for years. It makes you look fat. It’s completely shapeless.’

W. and I are wearing our flowery shirts. ‘Look at us’, W. sighs, ‘fat and blousy, and everyone else slim and wearing black.’

What’s wrong with us? Why are we never dressed for thought? Take my trousers, for example. They should be pulled up around my waist like those of Benjamin in that famous photograph. But they sag. They droop disappointingly. — ‘You’re a man without hips!’, says W. ‘A man without ideas!’

I’m getting fat, of course. Eventually, I’ll have to wear elasticated trousers like the American professors, W. says. Perhaps it will suit me, my obesity. Perhaps it will give me gravitas.”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Notebook (lunch) at A Scarlet Tracery.

meta

