October 11, 2012 § 1 Comment

Perhaps I should wait until I’ve had more than a cursory listen, but the release of a new Godspeed! album (streaming on the Guardian page – ignore the interview) prompts a couple of responses. Firstly: it’s better than both Yanqui UXO the most recent Silver Mount Zion material, the latter in part b/c Efrim Menuck helpfully keeps his mouth shut, allowing a move back towards at least a species of collectivity. Secondly: my God am I old. To be fair, I got into Godspeed! after Yanqui came out & the band went on hiatus, but it is nonetheless nearly a decade since I first heard them. The political atmosphere of Yanqui is precisely that of the first years of the Bush administration, of the Second Intifada, of Seattle & Genoa. The differences, the continuities; the advances, the failures.

§ One Response to

  • Anwyn says:

    Uh, you’re not old, though you can keep on insisting so if it makes you feel better, I guess.

    I was 17 when somebody recorded the first Godspeed album – released that year – to cassette for me. Cassette, my friend. iTunes didn’t even exist.

    And I don’t know why everyone’s so down on Yanqui UXO, I fucking love that record. The first ten minutes or so of “Motherfucker = Redeemer” is one of the best things they ever did. Not to mention the cut-up State of the Union speech at the album’s very end (vinyl version), where Bush’s words sound like – morph into – gunfire.

    Grumpy old(er) person signing out…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at A Scarlet Tracery.

meta

